top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDiGi

I like my roadtrips like I like my men and cars: fast and dirty

Not really. I have a car wash club membership.

It has been five days since my last post. It’s a lot tougher than I thought to drive 8-10 hours a day with exploring in between and sleeping 2-3 hours. (I know, tough life).


I have already seen... and experienced a lot. I will just bring the blog up


On Wednesday I successfully procured my truck! It is a 2015 silver Toyota Tacoma TRD Pro access cab. While it may be “unorthodox” to pay for a car completely without ever being within 500 feet of it - like Pee Wee Herman and his bar from movie theaters - I do NOT regret it. (Side note: remember a simpler time when Pee Wee Herman was a shock to our sentimentalities. If I prayed, I would pray to get back to those times.)



The truck is a certified Pre-owned so that did squash some of my worries. But. I love her. I already named her: Athena. I will probably do a whole post on Athena because she’s so fucking badass.

Once I landed in Manchester, NH, I had a panic thought. Just like when the McCallister mom has a panic moment that she forgot, like, an entire small human being at the house for Christmas: I forgot to finalize my quote for car insurance on the truck.


I had submitted everything to Geico (whom I’ve had since I first got my license) and was *told* all I had to do was “use our easy to use app because you can do everything and because of COVID we just don’t answer our phones anymore.” Look Geico, if you want to breakup over text, just do it already. I clicked said buttons and links in the app and if just kept saying that they received my request and that they *typically* address those within an hour. I did that just while waiting for the plane to get back to the gate. Then as soon as we were physically off the plane, I immediately called them. They said their wait times were in excess of 47 minutes. Okay. But. Like, why tho??



Anyhow, I am baggage claim 30 minutes later and made no progress. Well. I had a 1.5 hour car ride so I thought “Oh, I’ll be fine.” They process stuffs in an hour, typically.

That is never a more dangerous assumption than “It’s fine” in the world of DiGi. NEVER.


John, am affable older gentleman, was the hired driver sent by the dealership. He helped me with my absurd amount of luggage and I asked if he preferred I sit in the back or shotgun. He shrugged and said “doesn’t matter.”


I did not realize how extroverted I was until COVID. As mentioned previously (either on this blog or to myself, I am not paying attention - am I supposed to be?), I don’t actually like most people. It’s a mixture of a character flaw and spending eleven years dealing with some of the worst human beings you can imagine.


Couple that with the most recent years dealing with everyone with a keyboard (including friends and family) calling you via your profession everything from a Nazi and jackbooted thug to a racist and basically trash that deserves to die if that’s what happens. While I canNOT say that I won’t touch on politics, I will promise that when I do, I am going to express my actual opinions and their basis for their existence in my life. I will NOT apologize for them. If you don’t like what I have to say, be a fucking adult: don‘t continue reading or engage me in constructive discourse. If you want to “cancel” me for having a different view than yours, then just do it.


It won’t be an airport, no reason to announce your departure.


I miss rational debate when you could talk to someone and even though you disagree with one of their positions, you would talk and maybe even Italian talk (confused with angry yelling), but then you’d move on.



I love putting everything out there and even being able to laugh at most of it. I am not a professional writer or comedian by any stretch, but I do know the good ones go through some serious shit that helps make them great in those fields. I have been through some shit and think you really can’t make everything out to be some alleged life or death battle. For that, go to my hypothetical post about Athena.


So! I don’t like people. It happens. But since we have now become even MORE cutoff from normal human interactions, I have found myself starving for it. When John said, “doesn’t matter,” before he got out the “...er,” I was already sitting shotgun, buckled on and excitedly waiting to have a new person to talk to. Like Urkel with Carl in Family Matters.


The short end of that is we hit it off. It’s because, deep down, I am an old grumpy man.

INSURANCE. That’s what I was talking about (welcome to my blog). After we get to the dealership, I’m still checking Geico and it didn’t go through. So as I’m signing papera I’m also signing up for Liberty Mutual. I get it to go through and it’ll be effective at midnight. But then I check the coverages and there’s no comprehensive. In the world of DiGi, there’s no way I am driving to Maine in my new used truck without it being fully covered. I call them and they say I can’t address it until the next day. You know what?? These insurance companies with animal mascots are really letting me down.


Then I try Allstate. All the coverages I want, etcetera. I double xheck and the insurance card has an effective date for a week out. Well, fuck me.

Them I remember Flo. She’s the best. She’s gotta save me. So I sign up for Progressive. BOOM! All the coverages, effective immediately.


Fast forward 48 hours and Geico got around to adding the truck to my policy.

If you’re counting, that means I have FOUR - count them - FOUR insurance policies covering my truck.

Dear god, I am a mess.

12 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page